NDDC: Senate Confirms Onochie, Airhiavbere, Ogbuku, and Others

The Special Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on New Media, Mrs. Lauretta Onochie of Delta State, was yesterday confirmed by the Senate to serve as the Chairman of the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

In line with its demand for the forensic investigation into the commission conducted by the Presidency, the Senate approved the appointments of 13 of the 15 candidates for the board that President Muhammadu Buhari submitted.

The Senate also approved Chief Samuel Ogbuku for the position of Managing Director for a two-year term, filling out the remainder of his predecessor’s term in office.

It also confirmed Major-General Charles Airhiavbere (retd), from Edo State, in the South-South for the position of Executive Director, Finance, and Charles Ogunmola, from Ondo State, in the South-West for the position of Executive Director, Projects.

The confirmation of the chairman and other board members by the Senate followed the presentation and consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Niger Delta Affairs by the acting chairman, Senator Buius Amos (APC, Gombe South).

The confirmation was carried out despite criticisms that trailed the nomination of Ogunmola from Ondo State, where the three senators from the state had written a protest letter to the committee, rejecting the name against the backdrop that he is from Owo, a non-oil-producing area of the state.

The Senate, however, stepped down the confirmation of former Deputy Governor of Edo State, Dr. Pius Odubu, state representative, Edo State, south, and Engr. Anthony Okanne, Imo State, south east, for their non-appearance for screening before the committee.

Odubu had earlier been screened and confirmed as Chairman of the Board on November 5, 2019, but the Board was never inaugurated.

His name was returned to the Senate in Buhari’s new list last November, but as a representative of Edo State. He, however, did not show up for screening, and the Senate, in its report presented, yesterday, chose to step down his nomination.

Also confirmed were Dimgba Erugba (state representative, Abia, South-East; Dr. Emem Wills, state representative, Akwa Ibom, South-South; Elder Dimaro Denyabofa, state representative, Bayelsa State, South-South; Orok Duke, state representative, Cross River, South-South; South-East; and Gbenga Edema, state representative, Ondo State, South-West.

Others include Elekwachi Dimkpa, state representative, Rivers State, South-South; Alhaji Mohammed Abubakar, (zonal representative, Nasarawa State, North-Central; Alhaji Sule Sani Sami, (zonal representative, Kebbi State, North-West; and Prof. Tahir Mamman, SAN, (zonal representative, Adamawa State, North-East.



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *